· VideoFreeTier

Canva's pricing page states the free tier's AI allowance exactly — up to 20 uses a month — but the number covers every AI tool at once, and video creation sits behind a consent gate, not a credit meter.

Model
Canva
Observed

Canva AI Video Generator Free: What 20 Uses a Month Actually Buys

Canva's free tier has an allowance the pricing page states exactly: up to 20 uses of standard or premium AI tools a month. That sentence makes the page unusual among the plans this site reads, and not in the way a headline number usually reads. Most pricing pages either publish the paid side and skip the free tier, or quote the free tier only as a multiple of something else. Canva's page does the opposite: it gives the free tier a real figure, and quotes the paid tiers as multiples of it — Pro is stated as ten times the free tier's AI usage, Teams as twenty. The catch is scope. The twenty uses are not twenty videos. They are a monthly pool that every metered AI tool draws from, and video generation is metered differently from everything else in it.

Canva AI Video Generator Free: What 20 Uses a Month Actually Buys

Watch the same finding as a video: youtu.be/DHLrYRta4hE

Nothing here requires a sign-up. Every dated figure this site holds is published as CSV, JSON and Markdown on the data page — no account, no email gate, nothing to register for before you can read a number.


Everything below was read from Canva's own pages: the plan table on the pricing page, the FAQ under it, and the video editor page with its FAQ. Two observations come from outside those pages: an anonymous session recorded earlier this month, and a deduction report from a logged-in free account. Which source each claim came from is marked as it appears.

What the plan page states for the free tier

The free plan is the first tier in the table, with its own call to action, and the page's FAQ opens with the plainest sentence on it: everyone can use Canva Free — and anyone who wants more advanced tools can start a free trial of the paid tiers. The free column, as it stood on the day this page was read:

ItemWhat the page states
Free planexists — first tier in the plan table, priced at zero
AI usageup to 20 uses of standard or premium AI tools
Top-tier AI toolsnot available on the free plan
Allowance reseta shared monthly AI quota, reset monthly
Not counted against the quotaAI design tools — translation, AI writing and similar — usable generously, subject to fair-use limits
Cloud storage5 GB
Stock libraryover 4.7 million photos, videos, illustrations and audio

The paid columns quote the free tier rather than repeating themselves. Pro is described as ten times the free tier's AI usage, and Teams as twenty times; the AI Pass add-on is described as unlocking forty times Pro's quota. The ladder is anchored at the bottom: the free figure is the unit the page measures everything else in.

One hedge on the page deserves to travel with the number. A footnote states that the usage figures are estimated on each tier's simplest tasks and lowest-consumption AI tools, and that heavier tools and more complex tasks consume more quota, so the actual number of uses can be lower. Twenty is the ceiling of a range, not a guaranteed count.

The number that decides nothing on its own

The free tier's twenty uses are not credits and not generation counts — they are uses of AI tools, and the cost of one use is not stated anywhere on the page. That makes the figure unusually honest by the standards of this dataset and unusually hard to spend, at the same time.

What consumes the pool is every metered AI tool at once. The design tools that do not count — translation, AI writing — are the exception the page bothers to name, which means everything else in the AI set does. A month of editing that leans on any metered AI feature spends from the same twenty, whether or not a video was ever generated.

Video generation specifically is named on the video editor page — Magic Media generates a short video, and a stronger mode runs on Google Veo 3 — but neither entry appears in the AI-tool ladder, and the FAQ's estimated-allowance list does not split its figures by tool. The page never states how many uses one video generation consumes, or which tier each entry requires. So the number that governs a free account's video month is: the shared pool, minus everything else the account did with it. That figure appears nowhere, because it depends on the account — but the dependency itself is the finding.

On 8 October 2026, a logged-in free account answered the mechanism question: a Canva AI video generation is counted against the shared monthly AI quota — the same up-to-20-uses pool that resets monthly — not a separate credit balance. That confirms the pipe, not the price: video draws from the published pool, and the number of uses a single generation takes is still not stated anywhere.

The gate on video is not the meter

For anyone not signed in, the constraint on Canva video is not the AI allowance at all. An anonymous session this month walked the video editor's front door: after the cookie wall, the create entry raised a 14-plus and terms-of-use consent step instead of an editor. No editor and no prompt field were reached, so the consent step — not a credit meter — is what sits in front of an anonymous video.

The video editor's FAQ narrows the watermark question on the way through. Asked whether videos can be exported without a watermark, it answers that watermarks appear only if the account is on Canva Free and Pro or paid elements were used — free elements, images, footage and music export clean. What the page does not say is what the free tier does about output generated by its own AI tools. The watermark rule is written about elements; the generated-output case is not written about anywhere this check could find.

So the honest description of the free tier's video position has three layers: the pool exists and is published, the pool's video price is not, and the door to the editor is gated by consent before either matters.

How this page was measured

Observed: the pricing page was read on 2026-10-08 with a headed browser probe — static fetches of Canva's pages return HTTP 403 from this environment, and the probe rendered the page in full. The FAQ's estimated-allowance list was read by expanding the accordion on the same page, the same day. The anonymous-session observation is from 2026-10-05, a fresh browser profile with no account signed in. The deduction mechanism was reported from a logged-in free Canva account on 2026-10-08.

Channel: every figure names the page it came from. The plan table, the AI multipliers and the FAQ's allowance list are on Canva's pricing page; the watermark answer and the Magic Media naming are on the video editor page's FAQ; the consent gate is the anonymous session on the video editor entry; the deduction mechanism is the logged-in free account. The dataset behind this page holds every observation this site has recorded, each carrying its channel, its date and how it was obtained.

Update cadence: pricing pages change without announcement, and the allowance footnote already frames the figure as an estimate that can move with the tool mix. The figures here carry one date because they were read on one day; re-read the page before quoting them as current.

Not confirmed here: whether every generation costs exactly one use of the twenty — the mechanism is confirmed from a logged-in account, the per-generation count is not stated by the vendor. Whether the twenty uses cover a working month of video, which depends on what else the account spends the pool on. What the free tier does about watermarks on its own AI-generated output — the FAQ covers elements, not generations. And what the anonymous path shows after the consent step, since that step was not passed.