2026-09-29 · VideoFreeTier

Kling AI Free: Who Said the Number Matters More Than the Number

We have not measured Kling AI's free tier, so this page quotes no allowance figures for it. What this site can offer instead is the test we apply to every free-tier number we do hold: before asking how much, ask who said it. In our own 22 dated observations, 15 are reports, 6 are vendor statements and 1 is a single source — and the single most specific claim in the whole dataset came from that last, weakest grade.

Nothing on this site requires a sign-up. Every dated figure we hold is published as CSV, JSON and Markdown on the [data page](/data/) — no account, no email gate, nothing to register for before you can read a number.


Three grades, counted

Every row in this site's dataset carries a source_type field, and the field is not decoration. Sorting the 22 rows by it gives the shape of the evidence as it actually stands:

GradeWhat it meansRowsShare
vendorthe company stated it in its own material627%
reportsomeone using or hosting the product said it1568%
single-sourceexactly one person said it, and nothing corroborates it15%

Read that the way a reader would: roughly two thirds of everything this site knows about one model's free tier is somebody's account of it, not the vendor's. That is not a scandal — it is the normal condition of free-tier information, and the reason a figure should never travel without its grade attached.

The single-source row is worth naming, because it is the most interesting one in the set.

The most precise answer came from the weakest source

Here is the full chain of what the dataset holds on one narrow question — output resolution — arranged by grade rather than by date:

ClaimGradeObservedWhat the row says about it
resolution: not statedvendor2026-07-31the official launch post omits resolution entirely
1080pvendor2026-07 to 2026-08as advertised on hosting platforms' model pages
4Kvendor2026one platform; contradicted by its own plan table
4K + 10-bitsingle-source2026-07-04source was under NDA; nothing else corroborates it

The grades run from strongest to weakest going down, and the answers get more specific going down. The vendor with the most authority over the question wrote nothing at all. The host that made the boldest claim contradicted itself one click away in its own pricing table. The one claim that names a bit depth — the most technical, most checkable-sounding line in the set — is the one row this dataset would not let you lean on.

That inversion is the reason "who said it" outranks "how much". A precise number is not evidence of a good source; on this question the two moved in opposite directions.

Vendor rows are not a single solid block either

It would be tidy if the top grade were internally consistent. It is not, and the dataset records both cases rather than smoothing them:

So the useful habit is not "trust official sources". It is "grade the source, then check whether it agrees with itself and with the other grades".

What to do with a Kling AI figure

Applied to a search for Kling AI's free access, three rules follow. None of them needs a number for Kling AI, and none of them invents one.

1. Attach the grade before the amount. When you find an allowance figure, write down next to it whether the vendor said it, a host or user reported it, or one person mentioned it with nobody else backing it. In this dataset that field decides how much weight the row can carry — it is why the 4K + 10-bit line stays one row out of 22 instead of becoming the headline.

2. "The official page doesn't mention it" is a finding, not a gap to fill in. The vendor row for resolution says *not stated*, and that row is dated 2026-07-31. It is one of the six strongest-graded rows in the dataset. Silence from the authoritative source is information: it means the precise answer people quote for it is coming from somewhere weaker.

3. A single-source claim needs a second source before you plan around it. One row, one person, no corroboration — the dataset's own note says the source was under NDA. That is not the same as false. It is the same as unusable for anything you would be annoyed to get wrong.

Grading a number yourself

The shortest path to a Kling AI answer you can defend, in the order this dataset does it:

  1. Find the figure, and record who published it — vendor material, a hosting platform, a forum post, a colleague.
  2. Put it in one of the three grades above. If you cannot tell which grade it belongs to, treat it as report at best.
  3. Add today's date. A row without a date is the one row type this dataset does not contain, because it would not be usable.
  4. Look for the same claim from a different grade. If the vendor says one thing and users say another, keep both — do not average them and do not pick the one you like.
  5. Check the unit before the amount, and whether the grant refills. In this dataset: 5 generations per account per day on Doubao (2026-08-11) sits in the same model's table as a one-off 20 credits on Mina Labs (2026-08-11). Same day, opposite behaviour over time, both filed without reconciling them.
  6. Only then write the number down as your answer — with the grade and the date still attached.

Step 4 is the one most people skip, and it is the step that produced the contradiction rows above. [Grok Imagine Free](/posts/grok-imagine-free/) covers what to do once you have a graded number and want to know how long it stays true; [Sora 2 Free](/posts/sora-2-free/) covers the six fields to fill in for a first measurement of any model.

Scope of what this page says

Every dated figure above is an observation of Seedance 2.5 across Jimeng, Doubao, Doubao Work, Mina Labs, Lovart, BytePlus ModelArk and vendor material between July and August 2026. None of them describes Kling AI, and none is an industry-wide finding. The 6 / 15 / 1 split is a count of this site's own rows, not a measurement of how free-tier information is distributed in general.

The full dataset — 22 rows, each carrying channel, observation date and source type — is on the [data page](/data/) in three formats, free to use under CC BY 4.0 with attribution. To turn an allowance and a usable rate into an attempt count, the [attempts-needed calculator](/tools/free-tier-calculator) uses only figures from that dataset and estimates nothing on your behalf.